Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Polkadots
14 mai 2014

Child

 After a short yet emotional visit back home, my life started to change in Strasbourg. Sun shone, new friendships formed and my love life renewed itself. Daily schedules were modified to spend more time with these new characters in my life. There was so much to talk about, so much to discover and so much to comprehend. We were basically taking turns in learning about eachother's past.

 One day, when it was my turn, my beau took me to his brother's flat. It wasn't anything formal, we just dropped by to say hi. I had already learned that his brother had a son of age 4 and a daughter who was even younger. I must admit, I was already terrified to meet the brother, and knowing that there was the possiblity of kids being around added to my terror. I've never been quite good around kids, never know what to say or what not to. As we were welcomed in, my eye caught the sight of a little boy sitting a the dining table, his back to us. He didn't bother turning around to welcome the guests as he was very much enjoying the crepes in his plate. So I was introduced to him by my boyfriend. It struck me as a bit inappropriate to be introduced as a girlfriend. I mean, would a 4 year old even know what that means? Does he know any other title a part from mom and dad and sister? As I stood there uncomfortably with the biggest smile my facial muscles could possibly manage, the men went off to a corner to chat and I was left alone with a 4 year old who was observing my fake smile. He immediately understood that he had to be the conversation starter since I was almost paralysed. He came up with the simplest question : "what's your name". I felt stupid. I could have come up with that. I managed to bend down on my knees to his height. I kept my smile, just in case. He was much more at ease with words than I have ever been in my life. He spoke to me about his cat, his sister, his childhood (haaah) and his daddy. Next thing I know he's throwing his arms around me and laughing with all his being. He had me right there and then. I was in love with this little creature. He kept close, he felt my face, apparently my lips amused him the most. He pinched them softly together with both hands and asked me to try to speak. My mumble made him laugh to tears. He threw himself in my arms again. I held him tight this time and laughed along with him. I looked around the room; no one was paying attention to what was going on between me and him. For a second there I wished my parents were in that room. I wished for them to see a child in my arms. 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Polkadots
Publicité
Archives
Publicité